There is never going to be anybody else in this world just like you….

Dear Jessie:

I can never say that I understand what it is like to be inside your body; inside your head. I don’t know the thoughts you battle or the pain you endure. But I do know what it feels like to lose someone to that battle, and I can promise you that life would never be better without you. You are more loved than you can imagine; and more important than you will ever know. No one can ever take your place. You hold a special spot in the hearts of everyone lucky enough to know you.

I know that the road ahead will sometimes seem impassable but you are equipped to win this war. It is a day by day thing and it is okay to ask for help. Sharing your story with your friends and family shows your incredible strength. I admire you for your courage. Don’t be too hard on yourself, but be honest with yourself. Take refuge in the smallest delights and simplest beauty.

And Jessie, more than anything else I have written here, I want you to remember this:

There is never going to be anybody else in this world just like you; there will be nobody else to fill your role. You are a unique puzzle piece in this world. You are the only one with your smile. You are the only one with your laugh. You were uniquely made for the life you were meant to live. You were equipped with a perfect mixture of strengths and weaknesses that allow you to feed into others’ lives like no one else. There can never be another Jessie, and I promise the world is much better with you in it.

So take heart my friend. I’ll be praying for you and cheering you on from thousands of miles away.

Always and Forever

Me.

 

Jessie’s story from her sister: “My darkest hours came recently after my sister divulged that she had been on the brink of committing suicide a few months earlier. Anyone who meets her sees a brilliant, beautiful, and funny young woman. Only God knows why she cannot see that in herself.  My family worked to get her help and she is on the road to better mental health, but it is a long, difficult journey.  There are still times when I see her withdraw from friends and family.  She is in desperate need of uplifting letters that would touch her heart during times of isolation and anxiety. I sincerely believe she would be thrilled knowing that complete strangers cared enough for her well-being to take the time to send her a love letter.”

Leave a Reply

