We will be the hopeful

IMG_2752

The other day I was wearing my TWOLHA t-shirt that simply says “We will be the hopeful.” Someone in the airport asked me what that meant- what it is that “we” were going to be hopeful for. And my answer was simply “light.”

I spend a lot of my days pouring over heartaches in the world, whether it is from friends, or family, or work, but it always reminds me how much darkness creeps into each of our lives. How many moments do we spend disappointed with ourselves, wishing we were something better, something more, something less? How many moments do we spend asking why me? Or when will this end?

But the reality is we have a choice. We can choose to live in that darkness or to seek light. We can choose to be beacons of light into the lives of others. We can choose to see obstacles or opportunities. We can choose to be the hopeful.

I’ve come to realize that life is not fair. Life is never going to make sense. I will never know why everyone suffers. I will never know why some people will have mountains to climb while others have hills. I will never be able to save everyone from pain. I will never be able to save everyone. I will never know or be able to do a lot of things. But what I do know is that I can live my life hopeful; I can choose to bring light into this world.

The next question the man in the airport asked was what is “light”. I smiled and said it is the kind of love that shows up. It isn’t convenient. It isn’t easy. It is the fighting kind of love. It a shoulder to lean on, a love letter, a compliment. It’s the kind of love that cares about the real answer to how are you. It is the kind that keeps promises. One that is slow to anger. One that is gracious. It is the kind that never fails. It is the kind that recognizes that we are blessed and that this world will die in darkness if we don’t use that blessing to bless others.

A lot of people tell me that I do great things because I help people in Africa but the truth is we all can do great things. We spend a lot of time belittling our ability to bless others when the truth is we all possess the one thing that everyone needs. We all have love. You don’t need to go to Africa, you don’t even need to go to a homeless shelter, you just need to go to the people next to you. Blessing others doesn’t require anything more than you and the light you hold inside.

So my wish this year for all of you is to be a light; to be the hopeful. May you show up when people need you, even if they can’t say those words. May you be fearless in love, even when you’ve been hurt before. May you help each other chase your dreams. May you be a rock in someone’s storm. May you recognize your worth, your blessing, and your importance in this beautiful mess we call life.

And may WE BE THE HOPEFUL

If you are looking for ways to get involved in something different this year check these out:

Help me sponsor 7 kids to go to school in Kenya

Write Love Letters

Donate your birthday to Charity Water

Support To Write Love on Her Arms

Leave a Reply

